1513

And that’s just the greens!  I’ve been working throughout 2009 to make bazoodles of green hexies.  I had to after sending this one away to its new home in Australia.  My original plan was to fill up a Cuties box.  And however many hexies I ended up with would be what I had to use to put the quilt together.  I want an organic asymmetry to balance the perfect symmetry of the hexagons. But I got hooked on cutting out Cia’s templates, and entirely too carried away by my piles and piles of green fabrics.  I couldn’t stop.  My Cuties box runneth over.  So my husband, the organized one, gave them their marching orders.  Much easier to count them!

But you know me, I felt sorry for the little creatures–they’re going to spend the rest of their lives in a prefect, orderly hive.  I set them free one last time.

2010 is going to be the year of putting these little sweeties together.  They will be joined by a select group of other colors.  I shocked myself at how big this quilt has the potential to be.  But then again, that’s how it goes for me.  I always try to cram just one more different fabric (and just one more, I swear!) into a design.  And before I realize it, my innocent little wall-hangings will fit on a queen-sized bed.

I also have one more big fabric shopping trip planned before the end of the year.  I know that I’m going to want to cram a few more greens into the pile.  I’ve made a deal with myself–I get to add more as long as the hexagons are made by New Year’s Day.  Then the piecing begins!  I swear!

One Response to “1513”

  1. Leslie Says:

    wow these are amazing!!! that is one huge pile of hexaagons

Leave a Reply

