I’ll Always Have the Dent it Made on the Floor

This is what remains of what had been my favorite wedding gift from 21 years ago.

It was a cut-glass candy dish that one of my dad’s army buddies brought back from his service in Europe during World War II.  He wrote the nicest letter to accompany the gift all about what my dad meant to him, and how he wanted to give me something that represented the connection between our families.

I’m not much of a pretty things on a shelf kind of person.  I do love pretty things, but I like functional things–which is one of the reasons why quilting is so dear to me.  The lovely candy dish was immediately conscripted into service as my safety pin holder, which I used faithfully as I pinned each and every quilt.  I was always very aware of its precious nature, and it was a faithful reminder of my father.

All it took was one slip of my fingers.  It bounced off a chair and smashed on the floor, sending shards of glass and safety pins flying across the hardwood.  I think a few tears got mixed into the mess, too.

But I knew it was always a possibility.  I guess I’d rather have enjoyed using it for 21 years, than have it sit on a shelf gathering dust for the rest of my life.  Mr. L.V. “Pete” Mhoon, your gift may be broken, but it will never be forgotten.

4 Responses to “I’ll Always Have the Dent it Made on the Floor”

  1. Brenda Says:

    too bad about the bowl. I’m with you — I’d rather use something than save it. What’s the quilt you’re making here? It looks lovely.

  2. MichelleB Says:

    I’m sorry it got broken, but I think you have the perfect attitude about it! The quilt is looking spectacular.

  3. Sam D. Says:

    Sorry about the bowl. I know how frustrating breaking things you love can be.

  4. Serena Says:

    that’s tough……I did something similar with the only keepsake I brought home from Mexico….I used it to store buttons…..and then it hit the stone hearth….

Leave a Reply

