Friday’s Froggies & Other Fun

Friday has rolled around again and all I can say is at least my Friday dig through the stash gets me blogging once a week!  It’s been a very creative and productive week.  The tan I’ve been developing might give the impression that all I have really been doing is sitting by the pool.  Well, maybe . . . .

My daughter has been putting some additional touches on my kitchen cupboard renovation:

cupboarddoor1

She has plans for a couple more doors and a set of drawers.  She’s set up her easel and been doing a lot of other painting now that school is out.

I hit a garage sale early one morning and found this sweet vintage reptile purse:

reptilepurseThe lady selling it was from Japan and said it had belonged to her mother.  She told me that her mother used to always carry it very properly when she was dressed in her best kimono.  Any ideas what it is?  Snake?  Some kind of lizard?  Whatever it is, it’s in pristine condition.

As psychologically taxing as it was is, I finally broke down and cut into some of my Echino by Etsuko Furuya.   I bought a great old Danish Modern chair from a thrift shop a few months back, and I’ve put off making new cushions because I’ve never done even the most basic upholstery work and it scares the heck out of me!

cushion1So far, so good, but I think I need to wrap the foam in batting.  The cushion has a definite “Grandma’s Lake Cottage Circa 1962” feel to it at this point–although the awesome colors and fabric go a long way to counter the effect!  The extreme look of the piping is not terribly forgiving, so I’m taking further pains to make sure I get it right.  If it turns out well, I may not be able to allow my son to hide it in his room as is currently the plan!

And these fabrics just leaped out at me this week:

frogfabric1Please picture it also in a lime green colorway.  I know it’s in my house somewhere, but I couldn’t put my fingers on it.  This is a KP Kids print by Kari Pearson.  There was a time about 10 years back when I could not get enough KP Kids–obviously in every colorway I could find.  I had a two little kids, a baby and another baby and the adorable factor of any given fabric was a big draw for me.  The pile is deep with novelties, I know.  What can I say?  They make me very hoppy!!

4 Responses to “Friday’s Froggies & Other Fun”

  1. Magnolia Bay Quilts Says:

    Your daughter is very talented! Love those door pulls.

    I remember that frog fabric! I thought it was more recent — my, how time flies!

  2. MichelleB Says:

    That bag is a wonderful find! (Speaking of which, I got my Keen shoes (the ones that you mentioned on here) the other day – cute, cute.)

    Your daughter is so talented! Those cupboards are great. Love the frog fabric.

    • fabricpile Says:

      Gah! Michelle, I am so jealous! Glad somebody worthy has them! They’d probably look terrible in my size anyway (rationalize, rationalize!)

  3. susan Says:

    i am pretty sure that is snake.the underbelly is usually lighter in color, and that would be the bits on the side (it apparently was slit up the belly, sorry for the grossness) it is an awesome bag and i love that it has a story

Leave a Reply

