Friday’s Flying Fabric

Once upon a time, before Harry Potter, witches looked like this:

witch1This is a really fun Alexander Henry fabric from 1997.  That year, my family hosted a Swedish journalist and quilter, Anita Fors.  She was researching Swedish shipwrecks in the Great Lakes and I was the only person she knew (love those friendly internet quilters!) who lived close enough to help her out.

My kids and I traveled with her to each of the five Great Lakes within the span of a week, listening in on her interviews, eating Swedish foods in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula where a surprising number of Swedish Americans told us tales of their Mormors (Grandmothers).  She sent us off to dreamland at night telling us elaborate Swedish folktales.

witch2Of course, we also went to quite a few quilt shops, adding to both our piles along the way.  She thought this particular fabric was hilarious because, apparently, witches in Sweden ride their broomsticks with the straw part pointing in front of them.  Together we bought about six yards.  I still have my two.

I regret to say that I have lost track of Anita.  If you’re out there, please let me know!

Digging through the pile this week, I’ve come up with some sweet things for a give-away which I will post next week.  And not everything in my pile is a novelty, I promise.  Stay tuned!

5 Responses to “Friday’s Flying Fabric”

  1. Rita Says:

    very cute fabric! and what a lovely story about your friend Anita! I hope you find each other again!

  2. MichelleB Says:

    You mean there was life before Harry Potter? Hard to remember. Cute fabric!

  3. Magnolia Bay Quilts Says:

    Cute fabric, and a sweet story. Nice memory.

  4. amy Says:

    The stash–she is deep and wide!

  5. Peggy Says:

    OMG, that has to be the cutest fabric…..It’s the kind of fabric that you could cut into fat quarters and exchange with some friends and host a Halloween challenge to see what each would come up with.
    Have fun with whatever you do with it…
    Peggy in NJ

Leave a Reply

