Fabricpile is NOT in Pittsburgh

If only . . . but I’m following Mrs. Schmenkman around in spirit and on Twitter.  And Kimberly and Sarah, too.

hexies2

My Little Hexies have grown up and moved away!  I don’t think my DQS6 recipient has it in her hands yet, so I can’t spill the beans as to who she is.  I really had fun piecing it.  I’ll definitely do more English Paper Piecing after all these years of pooh-poohing it.  In the early days of rotary cutters and chain-piecing techniques, it always seemed like way too much work.

hexies

I’m at a time in my life, however, when I can actually accomplish more doing a little handwork in spare moments–at the orthodontist, chaperoning bus trips, during lulls in housework or quiet times while the younger two are doing their school work.  The results are really crisp and beautiful.   I see a lot more hexies in my near future!

I’m still reeling over the fact that I have kids old enough to go to the prom.  And kids who are old enough to skip the prom to go see the new Star Trek movie.  Guess which is which . . .

kiramarkhairNot necessarily the one I might have picked had I tried to predict in advance, actually:

prompicMark found an awesome vintage cashmere sports coat at a garage sale, and it happened to fit his lanky form perfectly.  We worked from that to get him all dressed up and ready to enjoy the event.   Next week, he’s off to Germany for his half of an exchange program.  So I’m madly working on a nice quilt to send with him as a gift for his host family.

heloise2I took two different Chez Moi fabrics’ charm packs and some plain cream Kona to put this together.  It has been a long time since I’ve worked with solid fabrics–especially cream or white, but the look has definitely come around again.  I’m not entirely happy with the way it pieced, but I’m sure it will quilt out.

heloise1That is if I can get Heloise off of it so I can quilt it!

4 Responses to “Fabricpile is NOT in Pittsburgh”

  1. MichelleB Says:

    Your hexes look great! So do your kids. Hope he had a great time at prom.

  2. Hayley Says:

    I have it in my hot little hands and I LOVE it! I have never done paper piecing so I am in awe of all your little stiches. When I saw the little hexagons on the envelope I nearly screamed in the middle of the post office! Thank you so much, it was definitely worth the wait. Along with a thank you for my little extra gifts!

  3. Janellybelly Says:

    I just saw this hexie quilt over at Hayley’s blog & thought I’d come & take a closer look. It’s gorgeous!
    Blessings
    Janelle 🙂
    Heloise is such a cutie!

  4. Caro Says:

    Great hexies. You must love handstitching. I’ve been working on one for a couple of years — on and off. I’m making very slow progress.

Leave a Reply

