Don’t Even Try to Pinch Me!

Silly Amazon!  You made sure that this arrived on St. Patricks Day on purpose!sewinggreen Just a quick look-see shows me that Betz White has done a nice job mixing re-purposed sewing with making reusable items from new materials with a few other sewing surprises.

Once again, I can’t sit still long enough to really read it because I’m pounding floor boards in the kitchen.  My oven is lying on its back so that I could properly adjust the legs and fix a little problem it had.  Is it bad to lie an oven down like that?  Maybe it won’t work when I set it upright again and I’ll have to buy a new one.  Wouldn’t that be a shame . . . .

greenhexesThe hexes are coming along.  I’m not the neatest of basters, as you can see.  I’m getting more efficient as I go, though.  Some of you have asked about English paper piecing.  Cia’s Palette has a nice tutorial.  I’m using her hex print-out, too.  I saw a package of small hexagons in a shop yesterday–$21.00 for 750 1/2 inch hexes.  Whew!  It probably would be worth it for hexes that small.

And you won’t find me actually wearing green today.  I continue the tradition of my Croatian father who was a burly, lovable, bear of a guy who once broke a guy’s ribs with a hug.  He always refused to wear green on St. Patrick’s Day and then dared anyone to try and pinch him.   So go ahead.  Pinch me.  I have a flooring hammer in my hand . . .  😉

5 Responses to “Don’t Even Try to Pinch Me!”

  1. Heidi Elliott Says:

    MMMMM… those green hexes are lovely. Pinch! gotcha… Owww, give me that hammer!

  2. Tamara Says:

    Just popped in to say hi, I was looking at the WIP’s on the Flickr DQS just to see if anyone else was doing hexagons and I found you! I haven’t done hexes before but was thinking of attempting them for this swap…yours are looking great! Tam xo

  3. amy Says:

    Dude! I so don’t baste through my hexagon papers (although I print out on heavier mag subscription cards). I fold a side down and take a stitch at the corners. MOves that process right along. And then you don’t have to take the basting out.

  4. amy Says:

    Oh, and if you were riding my bus yesterday, I would have pinched you.

  5. fabricpile Says:

    And that is why no one reeeaaaaalllly wants me to do to a tutorial! This is the first time I’ve ever done English paper piecing and I’m sure I have some major bugs to work out! I’ll try on heavier paper, but I’ll have to check to see if my printer can squeeze down to print on magazine subscription cards. That would certainly fit the green theme! I remember you had a post on that some time back.

    If I were riding your bus, Mrs. Schmenkman, I wouldn’t have had the hammer–wait, no, I probably would have just had it concealed.

Leave a Reply

