Feeding My Obsessive Cereal Disorder

Just what I need–another obsession.   First off, I simply can’t stop looking at this fabric combination:

img_4338I have no idea what I want to do with them yet, but mmmmmmmmm . . . they sure do look tasty together!

Did somebody say tasty?!  I am by no means making light of OCD sufferers, here.  I have my own share of symptoms.  But I’ll admit right now that I have a huge problem when it comes to breakfast cereal.

Not that I don’t know where the whole problem came from.  I can actually blame my mother on this one.  When I was a kid, the only cereals my mom allowed in the cupboards were Cheerios, Rice Krispies, and Shredded Wheat.  Nothing with the Sugar in the name (oh, yes they did), artificial colors or anything with teeny, stale, marshmallow-like thingies.

I still don’t go for food that is as wildly colored as the fabrics I adore, but I will admit to the occasional Honeycomb or Peanut Butter Crunch binge.  And other times, I can eat cereal three meals a day and be perfectly happy.  Oatmeal, granola, raisin bran, Chex, rice flakes, Honey puffed wheat.  Yum!

cereal-boxes1And yet when a friend told me about these two chocolateenriched cereals from Trader Joe’s, my first thought was that they sounded kind of gross.

I was wrong.  Wrong, wrong, wrong.  In a good way!  One is like Special K–with very respectable chocolate flakes in it.   We’re talking real chocolate here, not yucky chocolate-flavored crap.   It’s awesome in milk!  (Look carefully at the box–it says it contains “Inulin.”  I first read it as “insulin” and had to chuckle.  Well, thank you very much!  That will help with the sugar load!)

cereal1

The other is like granola.  With yummy chocolate bits and rolls of milk and white chocolate.  This one is way too easy to eat right out of the box–and I am imagining it on yogurt or–no!  I will not say ice cream.  That would totally spoil the whole idea that it’s kind of healthy!

cereal2So now I have to find more reasons to drive to the closest Trader Joe’s (only about 90 miles away, darn it!)  and stock up.  Let’s see . . . Zsa-Zsa, my Bernina 180, is currently undergoing some tests at Quilt Quarters, a few miles away from TJ’s.  I have to go get her soon.  And there’s going to be fabric involved in that trip, too.   Perfect!  I can feed two of my obsessions at once!

One Response to “Feeding My Obsessive Cereal Disorder”

  1. Kira Says:

    Chocolate flake-eating tip:

    Go ahead and share the flakes with family, friends, etc, even though it might sound tempting to hog the box to yourself. Then, when the box is only approximately 1/4 full, take your share–meaning, sit and eat the rest in a chocolateful binge. Most of the chocolate will have sunk to the bottom (think unpopped kernels in a bowl of popcorn) and every bite will be infused with 10 times as many chocolate flakes as the top of the box.

    I speak from experience here.

Leave a Reply

