Rounding Up Free Interfacing!

As if I didn’t have enough piles lying around!  Ah, but these piles are good–as in “almost finished project” good!    Oh, how I love charm packs and Jolly Packs!  I  I feel like I can take just a little nibble of every yummy new fabric that comes along.  Like Amy Butler’s Daisy Chain:

circles1

But another squarishly squared-off squares quilt?  Not this time!

circles2

Well, lookie here!  A CD fits perfectly on a charm square with only an eensy-beensy bit of waste!

aol

You know you have a million of those suckers lying around, right?  Because you saved them, right?  Because you were sure that they would come in handy for a craft project someday, right?!  Okay you only need one, but dig it out!  Or use that old Bananarama CD.  Either way, don’t be ashamed!

And here’s a little secret I’d like to share with you.  Did you know that you can get free interfacing at the grocery store?!  Free!  All you have to do is ask for it in the floral department.  They get plants wrapped in the stuff–and then they throw it away.  Tell the floral manager he or she will be doing the earth a favor–and that it will look good at their management meetings to let everyone know how extra green they are for finding a way to recycle it.

interfacing1I think this stuff is made out of spider silk or something.  It’s finer-than-fine and stands up to the iron, too!

interfacing2There’s another type that they also sometimes have which is a little stiffer and doesn’t like the heat quite as much.  I think it will be great for machine embroidery, though.  If I ever get Zsa-Zsa (my Bernina 180e–so named because she’s high maintenance and luuuurrrrvs $$$) up and running again, I plan to give it a try.

Stay tuned and I’ll offer up a little tutorial on how to use this awesome stuff in my favorite  circle applique method.  In the meantime, go see if you can round up some free interfacing and a vintage AOL disk!

5 Responses to “Rounding Up Free Interfacing!”

  1. MichelleB Says:

    Oh my goodness! I’m so thrilled to have another way to use charm packs. Because I just ordered more! This is great. Thanks!

  2. lissa Says:

    Love the concept. I am going to have to give it a try. I am so into anything round right now.
    -modalissa

  3. Lauriewis Says:

    I can’t wait to see what you end up making. Love, love, love round these days!

  4. Heather Says:

    what a great tip!

  5. Thanks, Sam! « Fabricpile Says:

    […] of Amy Butler solids.  They’ll make up the main body of the quilt, and all the bazoodles of these will be appliqued on […]

Leave a Reply

