How’s My Ganache, Vianne?

If the North Wind blew Vianne Rocher, Anouk and Pantoufle into my little French Provincial town, I would welcome them with open arms, beg to be Vianne’s apprentice in her magical chocolaterie,  and hope that she had size 10 feet so I could borrow her red shoes!

chopped-chocolate1

Well, with or without Vianne’s help, it’s high time I learned how to make my own truffles!   I’ve been mulling the idea over for a long time and it always boils down (heh!) to the fact that I fear tempering.  All those lovely, perfect truffles in the world and I was afraid that I just couldn’t achieve that glistening, glossy glow.

And then I discovered the hottest thing in truffles on the West Coast (I swear!  It always takes years for trends to reach The Midwest!) I know, I know.  The French have been doing it this way for centuries.  That doesn’t change the fact that I have had the Platonic form of the perfect truffle in my head blocking my ability to actually pursue making them myself.

fivestartruffles1

Five Star Truffles--I talked him into selling me a staff t-shirt!

xoxtruffles2

XOX Truffles on Columbus in North Beach

 

XOX truffles and their apprentice’s newly opened shop, 5 Star Truffles and Coffee. The truffles are phenomenal!  Oddly shaped little hunks of bliss, coated in cocoa powder, cacao nibs, nuts and other yummies–and not a shine on the bunch!  The flavors are the best!  Red wine, Earl Grey, lemon, dark roast, and the list goes on–my kind of truffles.

 

 

 

 

So I’ve done my usual librarian-ly research and decided to experiment with Fran Bigelow’s basic truffle recipe.  And I was hoping to go buy some large hunks of my favorite Scharffen Berger chocolate from my local gourmet kitchen store, only to discover that the owner had recently changed his allegiances to Callebaut chocolate.  I trust his judgement and I’m impressed so far.  It’s delicious stuff!

 

 

 

 

 

truffles1My taste-tester baristas at Starbucks approve, the kids approve, my husband approves, but most importantly, I approve–and on Wednesday I’ll be taking some to The Other Mrs. Schmenkman to see if she likes them!  We Schmenkmans have quite the history with truffles.    

Now it’s time to make another batch and try some flavors.  Espresso, bergamot (Earl Grey), raspberry . . . . and if I can perfect a green tea or a lavender truffle, I’ll be a very happy little amateur chocolatiere!  

2 Responses to “How’s My Ganache, Vianne?”

  1. amy Says:

    And now I need a new keyboard because I have drooled excessively on this one… BTW, I live with Mr. Bergamot.

  2. Tom Fisher Says:

    Hog Heaven for chocolate lovers!

Leave a Reply

