Rainy Day Stitching


ginkgo1The Doll Quilt Swap quilt is coming along.  I’m running up against the deadline, but figure I’ll be forgiven.  I had a honeymoon to attend to!

The appliques are tracings from leaves I have collected along a certain walking route near my home.  I’ve been enchanted by ginkgos ever since my time at Indiana University.  They used to line the walkway behind the main library–until somebody realized that planting all female trees probably wasn’t such a good idea.  If you’ve ever smelled the fruit of this otherwise exotic and beautiful tree, you know what I mean.   Those stinkgo vomit trees were finally cut down.   There are, however, some amazingly huge ginkgos on the Purdue campus.  One of them is at least 80 years old.  I never knew they grew that big!  The only Frank Lloyd Wright house here in town, Samara, also has some lovely ginkgo trees–as well as sculptural elements which mimic the branch structure.

ginkgo21About halfway through the applique process, Betty (my Bernina 1230) hiccoughed and decided that she was just too tense.  I checked.  I turned her off.  I turned her on.  I rethreaded.  I cleaned.  I oiled.  I massaged the tension out of her up and down the scale.  Just when I was about to give up, she giggled and was fine.  Little practical joker!  That’s what I get for leaving her alone for such a long time.

Onward to quilting and embellishing!

4 Responses to “Rainy Day Stitching”

  1. Emma k Says:

    You have done a great job.

  2. amy Says:

    It’s looking lovely!

  3. Cameron Blazer Says:

    I love your gingkos, too!! Your applique work looks impeccable. Thanks for moseying over to my blog!

  4. Heather Says:

    Love the ginko–your work is so accurate. I don’t have a darning foot, need to get one to try some of your type of applique and quilting. thanks for the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

