Urban Burp

Welcome to the newest old fabric store around–Urban Burp on Columbus in San Francisco.  I was extremely excited to discover that the store had its grand opening just in time for my trip!

Urban Burp Rare and Vintage FabricsOwner, cloth hunter, and designer Elektra Skilandat has amassed an incredible collection of vintage fabrics from around the world, complemented by some beautiful reproductions and recently discontinued and collectible yardage.  She caters to quilters as well as home decorators.  

Elektra Skilandat of Urban Burp

We spent well over an hour with Elektra, admiring fabric after fabric.  She has a lot of beautiful mid-century drapery panels, which I tried to imagine hanging in their original homes.  A great number of her fabrics come from her frequent trips to Germany and other European countries.  She also offers design and upholstery service for those lucky enough to live in the Bay Area.

Found The Perfect Panel at Urban Burp

 I did find the perfect mid-century panels and some other delicious yardage.  The experience made me realize that I need to tone down the colors in my Atomic Split Level look just a bit with some steely grey and maybe a bit more brown tone in my orange accents.  I also found some fun vintage quilting weight novelty cottons that are going to be fun in just the right project. 

Watch for Urban Burp’s website, coming soon!

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Urban Burp”

  1. kathy doughty Says:

    Hi!
    I have to know when this website comes up! And I really want that top! I too would wear it until it fell off and it looks great with that atomic fabric. What a great place! I must go to San Fran now!!! kathy

Leave a Reply

