Archive for July 18th, 2008

My Ride’s a Dude!

July 18, 2008

In two weeks, I will officially turn back into a quilter. I have resigned my position as director of a small town library and look forward to reclaiming some time to do things for myself again.

The last time I “retired” from a career (as an automotive engineer), I pretended for several months that I no longer had a car. I walked, cycled and rollerbladed everywhere. I look forward to doing the same when I am no longer driving 12 miles each way to a job. Only this time it will likely be a more permanent thing due to the rising price of gas.

Kona Jake Cyclocross

Kona Jake Cyclocross

And this is my new vehicle, which runs on butt fat. I just picked it up from Nebo Ridge in Carmel yesterday. The Purdue color scheme is purely incidental. The model only comes in one design each year.

The only problem I’m having is that when I listen carefully to try to hear what her name is, all I hear is a deep, booming voice saying, “Knock it off! I’m a DUDE!” I don’t think his name is actually Jake, though. I think he’s holding out on me!

Now I’m going to start saving for a Yuba Mundo so I can do some real hauling around town. I see quilted panniers in my near future! And my cargo bike had better be a girl, because I won’t be able to tolerate the constant arguing and complaining if it turns out to be a guy who doesn’t appreciate cross-dressing on trips to the grocery store!