Dorotha Louise

My mother gave me many gifts.  She taught me that hard work is a virtue.  She told me that just as I could claim my victories in life, I had to accept responsibility for my failures–for that was the only way to learn from them and not repeat them.  She gave me my love of books and libraries.   She taught me to cook and bake and knit and sew.  She showed me that a husband can still be a boyfriend even after 50 years of marriage.

 

Alzheimer’s Disease stripped away her memories and her ability to do everything that she loved to do.  It stole away her dignity.  It finally tore her away from us far too soon.

 Some years back, when she struggling with my father’s terminal illness, we participated in a dollmaking workshop with elinor peace bailey.  I just wanted to get her out to try something new.  I had no idea that it would be so therapeutic for her.  epb encouraged my initially reluctant mother to make a doll which brought out her secret inner self.  I watched with quiet fascination as the doll she was creating became an aging Parisian Dance Hall Girl.  She cried and had a long private conversation with elinor as epb herself painted my mother’s face on her doll.

elinor peace bailey dorotha gensic doll 

I don’t think I would have had that little glimpse into my mom’s secret dream life if we hadn’t taken that class together.  The rose “tattoo” really makes me smile.   After the class, she made quite a few of epb’s dolls.  It wasn’t long, however, before the disease forced her to abandon the pursuit.

Thanks for having just one last kid, mom.  I’m sorry you had to leave us so soon, but I’m glad that your suffering is finally over.   

Tags:

3 Responses to “Dorotha Louise”

  1. Candy Schultz Says:

    What a lovely epitaph. I am so sorry for your loss. She sounds wonderful.

  2. alobsiger Says:

    What a wonderful tribute. I wish I had met her.

  3. Sandy Says:

    I knew your mom briefly many years ago. She was all you said she was in your lovely tribute. I’m sorry for your loss.

Leave a Reply

