The Name Game

I’ve been waiting all of my adult life for this little beauty. Even though this has been my most coveted kitchen appliance, I’ve always had a hard time justifying the purchase–even on a gift wish list.

But given enough credit card reward points . . . she’s mine!

Now it’s time for her to be initiated into the sorority of my wonderful electronics and gadgets. She needs a name! I don’t want to go with “Pearl” (from her color “Nickel Pearl”). It just doesn’t capture her Inner Mixer. And besides, Kiwi already owns the family title of Least Creative Namer. (“Ooooh! A new stuffed mouse! I shall call him ‘Mousie!’ Oh. It’s a hamster? Then he shall be known as ‘Hammie’!”)

Mixer

I didn’t acquire her so that I don’t have to knead dough anymore. Goodness knows my upper arms can always use the exercise! But there are some wonderful artisan breads I’ve been dying to make and even I can’t sustain a good knead for the required 45 minutes. I’m sure I’ll be reporting my results.

Pizza

She already helped me make some awesome pizza dough this past weekend. We’re going to have a lot of fun over the holiday season. And I know that soon she’ll reveal her identity to me.

4 Responses to “The Name Game”

  1. Candy Schultz Says:

    How about Rosie ala Rosie the Riveter. She looks very strong.

  2. liz Says:

    I want to call her Princess Beatrice. I can’t say as I have a good reason, I just think it fits somehow. Happy Thanksgiving! Remember, things (like family) don’t have to make sense to be great. (Case and point: strawberry ice cream pie for dessert today.)

  3. alobsiger Says:

    where’s the ham and sausage on that pizza? what? are you not from Indiana?

  4. The Poetry of Friendship « Artsy Fartsy Quilts Says:

    […] their gooey glory. I’m sure that the reason my breads all turned out so great is that I let Mabel the Mixer help out. I also changed the dough a bit, having discovered what a nice addition buttermilk makes […]

Leave a Reply

