Reduce, Reuse, Reappropriate!

When we lived on the Bog, I had huge, gorgeous windows through which I watched the seasons change while I performed such mundane tasks as washing dishes and folding laundry. Living so far away from neighbors, there was no need for curtains, but I did make lovely valances out of a great dragonfly fabric.

The new occupants of Bug’s Bog actually own and operate a company which makes custom blinds and curtains, so they didn’t have any use for my sunny dragonfly valances. I added the yardage back into my fabric stash (so much for reduction!) and decided that I would put it to good use in our new house.

Curtain1

I try not to collect too many different types of fabrics (even though I swoon over all things silk), but there is a special place in my collection for waffle weave cotton. I know, I know–that sounds ridiculous. It’s just that I have had this awesome waffle weave shirt from the Sundance catalog for at least 10 years and it never goes out of style and I always get compliments on it. I was pretty giddy when waffle weave shower curtains started popping up in department stores.

curtain2

I’ve successfully reused my dragonflies as window treatments in my bedroom by adorning a cut-up shower curtain from Target. They positively glow during the day. Even Joe likes them–which is a good thing since the room is reappropriated as his office during the daylight hours.

2 Responses to “Reduce, Reuse, Reappropriate!”

  1. alobsiger Says:

    Ooooh, pretty! The curtains and your new blog space!

  2. Candy Schultz Says:

    Okay I shall put you on my blogroll. I hesitated to do so with the other since I knew it was mostly a family thing. Blog away darlin. Us bloggers understand that we live in a rarified land of communicating denied to those who are not internet savvy. Have you noticed that STILL when you mention that you found out something on the internet people will go ‘oh the internet’ like it is astrology or something equally misguided. Especially doctors. None of that is relevant to quilting I know. I blather.

Leave a Reply

