The Mobile Whisperer

Lucky, lucky me.  My father-in-law makes the most incredible mobiles–and even though I have quite a few, I just can’t get enough of them. It’s difficult to truly capture them in photographs, but here’s a little peek at a few of my personal collection.

This is one of the first he made for me. I love MCM Atomic style.  Update it with more saturated colors and you have:

ImageImage

He also works in natural woods, salvaged from branches he picks up on his walks. This one has wood from 12 different Indiana hardwoods.

Image

Sycamore grain is gorgeous. This one has a different structure, and moves beautifully.
Image

He also makes table-top models (and eight-foot versions of this!)  The stand is made of apple, and the individual elements are dogwood.
Image

My favorite is a hexie mobile he made me after seeing my working on some English paper pieced hexagons.

Image

It’s difficult to capture the size of my most recent gift.  It hangs in my foyer.

Image

He has begun to play around with some new elements–computer components.

Image

Image

My daughter has a fun painted moon & stars mobile.

photo (28)

My son has a mixed dogwood/painted elements.

photo (29)It has been wonderful watching the evolution of his work, and I love it when he says, “Hey, I made an innovation . . .” I always try to lay claim to the prototypes. I like to think I’m his number one fan.  If you’d like to see more of his work, you can find him at Sculptures by Joe.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “The Mobile Whisperer”

  1. Lara Says:

    They’re all so beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

